Between $1,500 and $2,000, 12 of 18 product pages name both UL safety standards and none assists past 28 mph. Under $1,000 it was 4 of 13, with 4 past the Class 3 limit. Battery per dollar barely changes.
PeakLoadout finding
Of 18 e-bikes priced $1,500 to $2,000 on makers' US stores on 20 October 2026, 12 name both UL 2849 and UL 2271 on the product page and none assists past 28 mph, against 4 of 13 and 4 past 28 mph under $1,000.
By what you will use it for:
Fiido's T2 cargo bike, at $1.65 per watt-hour, with two catches: it assists only to 15.5 mph, the European 25 km/h limit, and its page names no safety standard. The cheapest with both standards named is the Lectric XPeak2 Long-Range at $1.77, then the Heybike Hybrid at $1.97 with a 440 lb payload.
For safety documentation and legal speed, yes. Battery per dollar is about the same in both bands. What changes is the paperwork and the class: 12 of 18 bikes here name both UL standards and none exceeds 28 mph, while under $1,000 it was 4 of 13, with 4 assisting past the Class 3 limit. You also get 2-year warranties from Velotric and Aventon, longer than the 1 year common under $1,000.
The Velotric GoMad, at 500 lb, then the Fiido T2, Heybike Hybrid, Velotric Summit 1 and Aventon Abound at 440 lb. Rad sets a separate rider limit inside its payload figure, so read both numbers.
| Bike | Maker price | Battery | $/Wh | Top speed | Safety standard on page | Payload |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fiido T2 cargo | $1,649 (was $1,979) | 998.4 Wh | 1.65 | 15.5 mph | none named | 440 lb |
| Lectric XPeak2 Long-Range | $1,699 (was $2,103) | 960 Wh | 1.77 | 28 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 330 lb |
| Fiido T3 cargo | $1,899 | 972 Wh | 1.95 | 15.5 mph | none named | 330.7 lb |
| Heybike Hybrid | $1,699 | 864 Wh | 1.97 | 28 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 440 lb |
| Velotric Summit 1 | $1,699 (was $1,999) | 705.6 Wh | 2.41 | 28 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 440 lb |
| Aventon Pace 5 REC | $1,799 | 733 Wh | 2.45 | 28 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 330 lb |
| Velotric GoMad | $1,999 | 801.6 Wh | 2.49 | 28 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 500 lb |
| Rad RadWagon also on Amazon | $1,799 | 720 Wh | 2.50 | 20 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 350 lb |
| Aventon Abound SR | $1,899 | 733 Wh | 2.59 | not stated | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 440 lb |
| Rad RadExpand 5 Plus | $1,899 | 720 Wh | 2.64 | 20 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 315 lb |
| Aventon Level 4 REC | $1,999 | 733 Wh | 2.73 | not stated | "UL certified", no number | not stated |
| Aventon Aventure 3 | $1,999 | 733 Wh | 2.73 | not stated | UL 2271 (battery only) | 400 lb |
| Aventon Abound LR | $1,999 | 733 Wh | 2.73 | not stated | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 440 lb |
| Rad Radster Road | $1,999 | 720 Wh | 2.78 | 28 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 320 lb |
| Rad Radster Trail | $1,999 | 720 Wh | 2.78 | 28 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 370 lb |
| Velotric Breeze 1 | $1,799 | 627 Wh | 2.87 | 28 mph | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 330 lb |
| Rad RadRunner Plus | $1,799 | 624 Wh | 2.88 | 20 mph | UL 2849 | 350 lb |
| Fiido Nomads Pro | $1,999 | 417.6 Wh | 4.79 | 15.5 mph | none named | 264.6 lb |
Pages that contradict themselves, as read on 20 October 2026: Aventon's Pace 5 REC spec table says "Class 2" and "Max: 28 MPH", a Class 3 speed; Fiido's Nomads Pro page gives three different weights; Rad's pages head their range "60+" or "65+" miles while the spec line gives a range that tops out at that same figure.
1. UL 2849 AND UL 2271 named on the product page (12 of 18 here do: there is no reason to accept less) 2. A class you can ride legally where you live (Class 1/2: 20 mph; Class 3: 28 mph) 3. A 2-year warranty: Velotric and Aventon state 2 years; Lectric 1; Rad states no term on its product pages 4. Payload for you + cargo, and the separate rider limit 5. Battery Wh you need: ~20 Wh per mile, plus 30% margin
Paid links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices and stock are Amazon's, and change; we list categories, not endorsements.
Every e-bike priced $1,500 to $2,000 that Lectric, Heybike, Fiido, Velotric, Aventon and Rad Power Bikes list on their own US stores, read on 20 October 2026; under $1,500, see our commuter guide. Prices are each store's lowest listed price that day; specs are as printed on the product page, and a figure our read could not see is marked "not seen" rather than absent. Speed classes follow the PeopleForBikes model law; state laws differ. We have not ridden these bikes.
For makers: if a spec, price or certification here has changed, send it through our contact page and we will re-read it and date the change.
For range, the Lectric XPeak2 Long-Range (960 Wh, $1,699); for heavy riders, the Velotric Summit 1 (440 lb payload, $1,699); for cargo, the Velotric GoMad (500 lb, $1,999). All three name both UL 2849 and UL 2271 on their product pages.
Mostly for safety and legal speed rather than battery. On 20 October 2026, 12 of 18 e-bikes from $1,500 to $2,000 named both UL standards and none assisted past 28 mph; under $1,000 it was 4 of 13, with 4 past the Class 3 limit. Battery per dollar was about the same.
The Velotric GoMad, with a 500 lb maximum payload, then the Fiido T2, Heybike Hybrid, Velotric Summit 1 and Aventon Abound SR and LR at 440 lb.
Yes. On 20 October 2026 every Rad product page we read named UL 2849, and all but the RadRunner Plus also named UL 2271 for the battery. Rad's product pages did not state a warranty term.
Fiido's bikes assist to 15.5 mph, the European 25 km/h limit. In the US, Class 1 and 2 e-bikes assist to 20 mph and Class 3 to 28 mph under the PeopleForBikes model law.
From $1,500 to $2,000 you are paying for certification and class-legal speed more than battery: two thirds of the bikes here name both UL standards. The Lectric XPeak2 Long-Range is the most battery with both standards; the Velotric Summit 1 and GoMad are the strongest for weight and cargo, with 2-year warranties. Fiido's T2 is cheapest per watt-hour but slow by US standards and names no standard on its page.