The E-Bike Safety Standard Register
Which UL safety standards each maker's own product page names for its e-bikes, read on the rendered page with every tab opened, next to the top assisted speed the page claims.
- Pages read
- 20 October 2026
- Bikes
- 31 from 8 makers
- Licence
- CC BY 4.0
PeakLoadout finding
Of 31 e-bikes from 8 makers read on their US product pages on 20 October 2026, 16 name both UL 2849 and UL 2271, 11 name one standard or an unnumbered "UL certified", and 4 name none; none of the 4 bikes that assist past 28 mph names a standard.
What do UL 2849 and UL 2271 actually cover?
Different parts of the bike. UL 2271 is the standard for the battery pack on its own; UL 2849 covers the e-bike's whole electrical system, so a bike certified to it has had its battery, charger, motor and controller assessed together. That difference is why a page naming only UL 2271 has said nothing about the charger, the part owners plug in overnight.
What do e-bike product pages name?
16 of 31 name both standards. 4 name only one, 7 use an unnumbered "UL certified" or put the standard only in a site-wide banner, and 4 name none at all. We count what the product's own page says, because that is what a buyer, and an AI shopping assistant summarising the page, reads.
Which makers name both standards?
Lectric and Velotric named both on every tracked bike's page. Fiido's US pages carry a site banner reading "CE/UKCA/UL Certified", but the Nomads Pro's own certification answer lists UN38.3, MSDS and EN 15194, the European e-bike standard, and no UL number.
Do the fastest e-bikes name a standard?
No. 4 bikes claim pedal assist past 28 mph, the Class 3 ceiling in the PeopleForBikes model e-bike law that most states follow: the Jasion X-Hunter (30 mph), the Jasion RetroVolt Pro (38 mph), the Jasion Thunder (30 mph), the Jasion Hunter Pro (30 mph). None of their product pages names a UL standard. A bike that assists past 28 mph is outside the three-class system, so in most states it is treated as something other than an e-bike.
What did the pages get wrong or leave unclear?
- Fiido. US product pages show "CE/UKCA/UL Certified" in a banner; the Nomads Pro's certification answer names only UN38.3, MSDS and EN 15194 (European), and says "EU compliant with 250W motor" on a US store.
- Heybike. The Cityscape 2.0 page says "UL Certified" and "UL-certified battery" without a standard number; the Mars 2.5 and Ranger S 2.0 pages name UL 2849.
- Aventon. The Aventure 3 names UL 2271 in its Specifications tab; UL 2849 appears only in page data that does not display. The Level 4 REC says "UL-certified battery and ebike system" with no number.
- Jasion. Four bikes claim assist past 28 mph (up to 38 mph on the RetroVolt Pro) and none of their pages names a UL standard.
For makers: if your page names a standard we did not count, or a figure here has changed, send the link through contact and corrections and we will re-read it and date the change.
The full register
| Bike | Maker price | Standard named on the page | Top assist | Battery | Payload |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aventon Pace 5 REC | $1,799 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 733 Wh | 330 lb |
| Aventon Abound SR | $1,899 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | not stated | 733 Wh | 440 lb |
| Aventon Abound LR | $1,999 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | not stated | 733 Wh | 440 lb |
| Heybike Hybrid | $1,699 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 864 Wh | 440 lb |
| Jasion EB5 Roamer ST | $699 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 528 Wh | 330 lb |
| Lectric XP Lite2 | $799 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 20 mph | 375 Wh | 275 lb |
| Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range | $999 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 20 mph | 672 Wh | 275 lb |
| Lectric XP4 500 | $999 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 500 Wh | 330 lb |
| Lectric XPeak2 Long-Range | $1,699 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 960 Wh | 330 lb |
| Rad RadWagon | $1,799 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 20 mph | 720 Wh | 350 lb |
| Rad RadExpand 5 Plus | $1,899 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 20 mph | 720 Wh | 315 lb |
| Rad Radster Road | $1,999 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 720 Wh | 320 lb |
| Rad Radster Trail | $1,999 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 720 Wh | 370 lb |
| Velotric Summit 1 | $1,699 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 705.6 Wh | 440 lb |
| Velotric Breeze 1 | $1,799 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 627 Wh | 330 lb |
| Velotric GoMad | $1,999 | UL 2849 + UL 2271 | 28 mph | 801.6 Wh | 500 lb |
| Heybike Mars 2.5 | $899 | UL 2849 | 28 mph | 600 Wh | not stated |
| Heybike Ranger S 2.0 | $999 | UL 2849 | 28 mph | 692 Wh | not stated |
| Rad RadRunner Plus | $1,799 | UL 2849 | 20 mph | 624 Wh | 350 lb |
| Aventon Aventure 3 | $1,999 | UL 2271 (battery only) | not stated | 733 Wh | 400 lb |
| Aventon Level 4 REC | $1,999 | "UL certified", no number | not stated | 733 Wh | not stated |
| Fiido D3 Pro Mini | $549 | "UL certified", no number | 15.5 mph | 280.8 Wh | 264.6 lb |
| Fiido T2 cargo | $1,649 | "UL certified", no number | 15.5 mph | 998.4 Wh | 440 lb |
| Fiido T3 cargo | $1,899 | "UL certified", no number | 15.5 mph | 972 Wh | 330.7 lb |
| Fiido Nomads Pro | $1,999 | "UL certified", no number | 15.5 mph | 417.6 Wh | 264.6 lb |
| Heybike Cityscape 2.0 | $899 | "UL certified", no number | not stated | 468 Wh | not stated |
| Hiboy C1 | $629.9 | site-wide banner only | 20 mph | 280.8 Wh | 230 lb |
| Jasion X-Hunter | $799 | none named | 30 mph (past Class 3) | 624 Wh | 400 lb |
| Jasion RetroVolt Pro | $899 | none named | 38 mph (past Class 3) | 1040 Wh | 330 lb |
| Jasion Thunder | $899 | none named | 30 mph (past Class 3) | 864 Wh | 400 lb |
| Jasion Hunter Pro | $999 | none named | 30 mph (past Class 3) | 720 Wh | 400 lb |
Method
Bikes. Every e-bike tracked in PeakLoadout's e-bike guides, from each maker's own US store, priced on 20 October 2026.
Reading. Each product page was read in a browser as a buyer sees it, with specification tabs and certification answers opened, because a store's product feed often omits what the page itself shows. A bike is coded by the most specific thing its own page names: both standards, UL 2849 only, UL 2271 only, an unnumbered "UL certified", a standard that appears only in a site-wide banner, or none.
Speed. The top assisted speed the maker's page claims, against the 28 mph Class 3 limit in the model e-bike law.
Limits
This records what product pages say, not what a bike is certified to: a maker can hold a certificate it does not mention. It covers eight makers and the bikes our guides track, not every model each maker sells.
How can you use this data?
Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with credit. For a weekly-updated feed or a white-label version for a retail or comparison site, send a licence enquiry.
Cite it
Couey, V. W. (2026). PeakLoadout E-Bike Safety Standard Register, edition 20 October 2026. PeakLoadout. https://peakloadout.com/data/ebike-safety-register
License it
Take the register as a feed, or a white-label table for your site. Tell us what you need and we reply within two business days.
FAQ
What is the difference between UL 2849 and UL 2271?
UL 2271 certifies an e-bike battery pack on its own. UL 2849 certifies the whole electrical system of the e-bike, including the battery, charger, motor and controller working together. A bike certified to UL 2849 has had its battery assessed as part of that system.
Which e-bike brands name UL 2849 on their product pages?
On 20 October 2026, Lectric and Velotric named both UL 2849 and UL 2271 on every tracked bike's product page. 16 of 31 bikes across 8 makers named both.
Is a "UL certified" e-bike the same as UL 2849 certified?
Not necessarily. "UL certified" without a number does not say which standard was met: it can refer to the battery, the charger or the whole system. 7 of 31 pages here use an unnumbered claim or a site-wide banner instead of naming the standard on the product itself.
Do faster e-bikes name a safety standard?
On this register, no: 4 bikes claim pedal assist past 28 mph, the Class 3 limit in the model e-bike law, all from Jasion, and none of their product pages names a UL standard.
Is UL 2849 required by law?
In New York City, yes: Local Law 39 of 2023 requires e-bikes sold, leased or rented there to be certified to UL 2849. Elsewhere in the US it is not federally required, which is why whether a product page names it is worth checking.