PeakLoadout For makers
E-bikes · Buying guide

Best e-bike under $1,000: 13 bikes checked on battery, speed and safety certification

Under $1,000 the cheapest battery comes with a catch: the bikes that give the most watt-hours per dollar assist past the 28 mph Class 3 limit, and only 4 of 13 product pages name both safety standards.

Prices read
20 October 2026, on makers' own pages
Next review
January 2027
Compiled and verified by
Vincent Wesley Couey
Published
20 October 2026

PeakLoadout finding

Of 13 e-bikes under $1,000 on makers' US stores on 20 October 2026, 4 assist past the 28 mph Class 3 limit (up to 38 mph), and only 4 product pages name both UL 2849 for the bike and UL 2271 for the battery.

Prices from each maker's store and specs from its product pages, read 20 October 2026; class limits from the PeopleForBikes model e-bike law. All 13

What is the best e-bike under $1,000?

By what you need:

  1. Best overall: Lectric XP4 500, $999: 500 Wh, Class 1 to 3 up to 28 mph, a 330 lb payload, and both UL standards named on the page.
  2. Most range, within the law: Heybike Ranger S 2.0, $999, 692 Wh and UL 2849, or Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range, $999, 672 Wh with both standards.
  3. Lightest and folding: Lectric XP Lite2, $799, 375 Wh, 20 mph, both standards.
  4. Lowest price with both standards: Jasion EB5 Roamer ST, $699, though Jasion names them only in the page's source code.

Which gives the most battery for the money?

Jasion's, by a wide margin: the four cheapest per watt-hour are all Jasion, from $0.86. Every Jasion price we read was listed at about half its compare-at price (the Jasion RetroVolt Pro at $899 against $1,899), which our weekly read will show is a standing price or a sale. Up to $1,500, our commuter guide prices twelve bikes the same way. The cheapest per watt-hour that stays within 28 mph and names UL 2849 is the Jasion EB5 Roamer ST at $1.32.

What a watt-hour of battery costs under $1,000maker's price on 20 October 2026 ÷ battery Wh
Price per watt-hour of battery for 13 e-bikes under $1,000, makers' prices on 20 October 2026. Jasion RetroVolt Pro: $0.86 (assists past 28 mph) per Wh. Jasion Thunder: $1.04 (assists past 28 mph) per Wh. Jasion X-Hunter: $1.28 (assists past 28 mph) per Wh. Jasion EB5 Roamer ST: $1.32 per Wh. Jasion Hunter Pro: $1.39 (assists past 28 mph) per Wh. Heybike Ranger S 2.0: $1.44 per Wh. Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range: $1.49 per Wh. Heybike Mars 2.5: $1.50 per Wh. Heybike Cityscape 2.0: $1.92 per Wh. Fiido D3 Pro Mini: $1.96 per Wh. Lectric XP4 500: $2.00 per Wh. Lectric XP Lite2: $2.13 per Wh. Hiboy C1: $2.24 per WhJasion RetroVolt Pro$0.86 (assists past 28 mph)Jasion Thunder$1.04 (assists past 28 mph)Jasion X-Hunter$1.28 (assists past 28 mph)Jasion EB5 Roamer ST$1.32Jasion Hunter Pro$1.39 (assists past 28 mph)Heybike Ranger S 2.0$1.44Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range$1.49Heybike Mars 2.5$1.50Heybike Cityscape 2.0$1.92Fiido D3 Pro Mini$1.96Lectric XP4 500$2.00Lectric XP Lite2$2.13Hiboy C1$2.24
Battery Wh as printed, or volts times amp-hours where the page gives only those. The four cheapest per watt-hour are all Jasion, and three of them assist past 28 mph.

Are these all legal e-bikes?

Not all of them, under the model law most states follow. It defines an electric bicycle's motor as assisting up to 20 mph (Class 1 and 2) or 28 mph (Class 3). Jasion lists the X-Hunter, Thunder and Hunter Pro at 30+ mph and the RetroVolt Pro at 38 mph in its highest assist level: faster than any class, which in many states makes the vehicle a moped or motorcycle, with registration, licence and insurance rules. Check your state before buying one, and check whether the speed can be limited to a class.

Top assisted speed against the Class 3 limitas printed on each maker's page; the line is 28 mph
Top assisted speed printed by each maker against the 28 mph Class 3 limit in the model e-bike law. Jasion RetroVolt Pro: 38 mph mph. Jasion Thunder: 30+ mph mph. Jasion X-Hunter: 30+ mph mph. Jasion Hunter Pro: 30+ mph mph. Jasion EB5 Roamer ST: 28 mph mph. Heybike Ranger S 2.0: 28 mph mph. Heybike Mars 2.5: 28 mph mph. Lectric XP4 500: 28 mph mph. Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range: 20 mph mph. Lectric XP Lite2: 20 mph mph. Hiboy C1: 20 mph mph. Fiido D3 Pro Mini: 15.5 mph mphJasion RetroVolt Pro38 mphJasion Thunder30+ mphJasion X-Hunter30+ mphJasion Hunter Pro30+ mphJasion EB5 Roamer ST28 mphHeybike Ranger S 2.028 mphHeybike Mars 2.528 mphLectric XP4 50028 mphLectric XP Lite2 Long-Range20 mphLectric XP Lite220 mphHiboy C120 mphFiido D3 Pro Mini15.5 mphClass 3: 28 mph
Fiido's 15.5 mph is the European 25 km/h limit; the Lectric XP Lite2 and Hiboy C1 stop at 20 mph (Class 1 and 2). Heybike's Cityscape 2.0 page states no top speed.

Which ones name a safety standard?

4 of 13 product pages name both UL 2849 and UL 2271: Jasion EB5 Roamer ST, Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range, Lectric XP4 500, Lectric XP Lite2. Heybike's Mars 2.5 and Ranger S 2.0 name UL 2849 only. Others mention certification only in a site-wide banner or as "UL certified" with no standard number. New York City has banned the sale of e-bikes without UL 2849 certification since 2023 (Local Law 39); elsewhere, the certificate is still the best evidence you have about a battery you will charge indoors.

What each product page says about safety certificationUL 2849 is the e-bike standard; UL 2271 the battery standard
How the 13 product pages state safety certification. UL 2849 + UL 2271: 4 bikes bikes. UL 2849: 2 bikes bikes. site-wide banner only: 2 bikes bikes. "UL certified", no number: 1 bikes bikes. not seen: 3 bikes bikes. none named: 1 bikes bikesUL 2849 + UL 22714 bikesUL 28492 bikessite-wide banner only2 bikes"UL certified", no number1 bikesnot seen3 bikesnone named1 bikes
"Not seen" means our read of that page found no standard but could not see every part of it; "none named" was confirmed absent. A missing standard on the page does not prove a bike is uncertified: ask for the certificate.

Every e-bike under $1,000 we checked

BikeMaker priceBattery$/WhTop speedSafety standard on pagePayload
Jasion RetroVolt Pro also on Amazon$899 (was $1,899)1040 Wh0.8638 mphnone named330 lb
Jasion Thunder also on Amazon$899 (was $1,799)864 Wh1.0430+ mphnot seen400 lb
Jasion X-Hunter also on Amazon$799 (was $1,899)624 Wh1.2830+ mphnot seen400 lb
Jasion EB5 Roamer ST$699 (was $1,599)528 Wh1.3228 mphUL 2849 + UL 2271330 lb
Jasion Hunter Pro also on Amazon$999 (was $1,999)720 Wh1.3930+ mphnot seen400 lb
Heybike Ranger S 2.0$999692 Wh1.4428 mphUL 2849not stated
Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range$999 (was $1,413)672 Wh1.4920 mphUL 2849 + UL 2271275 lb
Heybike Mars 2.5$899 (was $999)600 Wh1.5028 mphUL 2849not stated
Heybike Cityscape 2.0 also on Amazon$899468 Wh1.92not statedsite-wide banner onlynot stated
Fiido D3 Pro Mini also on Amazon$549 (was $659)280.8 Wh1.9615.5 mph"UL certified", no number264.6 lb
Lectric XP4 500$999 (was $1,146)500 Wh2.0028 mphUL 2849 + UL 2271330 lb
Lectric XP Lite2$799375 Wh2.1320 mphUL 2849 + UL 2271275 lb
Hiboy C1$629.90280.8 Wh2.2420 mphsite-wide banner only230 lb

Pages that contradict themselves, as read on 20 October 2026: Jasion's EB5 Roamer ST gives a 330 lb and a 400 lb payload and 62 and 50 mile ranges; its X-Hunter gives 400 lb and 330 lb; Heybike's Cityscape 2.0 lists 1,200 W and 1,000 W peak power; Lectric says the XP Lite2 weighs "just 49 pounds" while its own figures add to 48.

Five questions before you buy any e-bike under $1,000
1. Does the product page name UL 2849 (bike) and UL 2271
   (battery)? If not, ask for the certificate in writing.
2. Top assisted speed: 20 mph (Class 1/2) or 28 (Class 3)?
   Anything faster is outside the model e-bike law.
3. Battery Wh = volts x amp-hours. Range claims assume a
   light rider on flat roads at the lowest assist.
4. Payload: you + bag + child seat must fit under it.
5. Warranty and returns: 1 year is common here; who pays
   return shipping on a 60 lb box?

Which should you buy?

Before the first ride

What to buy with a budget e-bike

Paid links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices and stock are Amazon's, and change; we list categories, not endorsements.

How we chose and compared these bikes

Method

Every e-bike under $1,000 that Lectric, Heybike, Fiido and Jasion list on their own US stores, plus the Hiboy C1, read on 20 October 2026. Prices are each store's lowest listed price that day; specs are as printed on the product page. Where our read of a page could not see every part of it, a missing figure is marked "not seen" rather than absent. Speed classes follow the PeopleForBikes model law; state laws differ. We have not ridden these bikes.

For makers: if a spec, price or certification here has changed, or your page names a standard we missed, send it through our contact page and we will re-read it and date the change.

FAQ

What is the best e-bike under $1,000 in 2026?

The Lectric XP4 500 at $999: 500 Wh, up to 28 mph as a Class 3, a 330 lb payload, and both UL 2849 and UL 2271 named on its product page. For more range within the law, the Heybike Ranger S 2.0 (692 Wh, $999).

Are cheap e-bikes safe?

Check the certification, not the price. Of 13 e-bikes under $1,000 we read, 4 name both UL 2849 (the bike) and UL 2271 (the battery) on their product page. New York City bans the sale of e-bikes without UL 2849; elsewhere, ask the seller for the certificate before you buy.

Is a 30 mph e-bike legal?

Under the PeopleForBikes model law most states follow, e-bike classes stop at 28 mph (Class 3). A bike that assists faster falls outside the definition, and many states treat it as a moped or motorcycle. Check your state, and whether the bike can be limited to a class.

How much battery do I need in an e-bike?

Divide your daily miles by how far a watt-hour takes you: at about 20 Wh per mile with moderate assist, a 500 Wh battery covers roughly 25 miles. Range claims assume a light rider on flat roads at the lowest assist level.

Which e-bike brands under $1,000 are UL certified?

On their own product pages on 20 October 2026, Jasion EB5 Roamer ST, Lectric XP Lite2 Long-Range, Lectric XP4 500, Lectric XP Lite2 named both UL 2849 and UL 2271, and Heybike's Mars 2.5 and Ranger S 2.0 named UL 2849.

Bottom line

Under $1,000 you can buy either the most battery or the clearest safety record, rarely both. The Lectric XP4 500 is the best all-round pick with both standards named; Heybike's Ranger S 2.0 gives the most range within the classes. The cheapest watt-hours belong to Jasion bikes that assist past 28 mph and mostly do not name a standard on the page: check your state's law and ask for the certificate before you buy one.

Related on PeakLoadout

Buying guideBest e-bike under $2,000What the next $1,000 buys: certification and legal speed.Buying guideCommuter e-bikes under $1,500Twelve bikes on price per Wh, class and UL 2849.Head to headLectric XP4 vs Velotric Fold 1 PlusBattery against warranty, both folds to scale.
☆ Save
Dashboard

From our network

Best AI Video Generators - nesyona.comBest AI Courses 2026 - edubracket.com1099-K Explained for Creators - ceocult.com