10 power stations from four makers at or under $500, read on their own US stores. Price per watt-hour runs from $0.39 to $1.51, a 3.9-fold spread, and the cheapest per Wh are not the ones that say the most about their batteries.
PeakLoadout finding
Of 10 portable power stations at or under $500 on makers' US stores on 25 October 2026, the Pecron E1000LFP gave the most capacity per dollar at $0.39 per watt-hour, and the dearest per watt-hour, the Jackery Explorer 100 Plus at $1.51, cost 3.9 times as much for the same stored energy.
By what you need it to do:
Capacity is stored energy in watt-hours; output is how much it can deliver at once in watts. Under $500 you get between 99 and 1,024 Wh. That runs phones, laptops, lights, a CPAP and a small fan for hours; a space heater, a kettle or a window air conditioner needs far more output than these units list. Check the output rating of any model against your biggest single device before you buy.
Pecron E1000LFP, at $0.39. Among the 4 units of 700 Wh or more, the cheapest per Wh is Pecron E1000LFP at $0.39. Per-watt-hour price rewards bigger boxes, so compare within a size class as well as across the whole list.
| # | Unit | Capacity | Maker price, 25 October 2026 | $/Wh | Cycles | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pecron E1000LFP also on Amazon | 1,024 Wh | $399 | $0.39 | 3,500 | 2 yr |
| 2 | Pecron F1000LFP | 960 Wh | $399 | $0.42 | 3,500 | 2 yr |
| 3 | Pecron E500LFP | 576 Wh | $269 | $0.47 | 3,500 | not stated |
| 4 | EcoFlow DELTA 3 Classic also on Amazon | 1,024 Wh | $499 | $0.49 | not stated | 3 yr |
| 5 | EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro also on Amazon | 768 Wh | $379 | $0.49 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 | Pecron E300LFP also on Amazon | 288 Wh | $179 | $0.62 | 3,500 | not stated |
| 7 | Jackery Explorer 300 v2 also on Amazon | 288 Wh | $279 | $0.97 | 4,000 | not stated |
| 8 | Goal Zero Yeti 500 | 499.2 Wh | $499.95 | $1.00 | 4,000 | 5 yr |
| 9 | Goal Zero Yeti 300 | 296.96 Wh | $349.95 | $1.18 | 4,000 | 5 yr |
| 10 | Jackery Explorer 100 Plus | 99 Wh | $149 | $1.51 | 2,000 | not stated |
Divide usable capacity by the load. For a constant 100 W, Pecron E1000LFP lasts about 8.7 hours and the smallest unit here about 0.8 hours. Real runtime is shorter when the inverter idles, the load is cold or the unit is old.
8 of 10 listings state a rated cycle count, from 2,000 to 4,000. 2 state none. Goal Zero Yeti 500, Goal Zero Yeti 300 name a safety certification in the product text. The standard for portable power packs is UL 2743, and a listing that does not name it has not said it is tested to it. Our LiFePO4 vs NMC guide explains the cycle ratings. A missing number is a question to ask the seller, not evidence of a bad battery.
For a fridge, see power station for a refrigerator; for a CPAP, power station for a CPAP. Start from the devices, not the box. Multiply each device's watts by hours per day, add the totals, divide by 0.85 for losses, and multiply by the days between recharges.
Daily energy (Wh) = sum of watts x hours for each device Capacity you need = daily Wh / 0.85, then x days between recharges Continuous output (W) >= the biggest thing running at once Surge output (W) >= any motor start (fridge, pump, power tool) Recharge: wall time and solar input (W) at the price you pay Example: laptop 60 W x 5 h = 300 Wh, phone 15 W x 2 h = 30 Wh, lights 20 W x 4 h = 80 Wh. Total 410 Wh. A 288 Wh unit is short for one day; a 1,024 Wh unit covers two.
Check every part against the ports and input rating listed for your unit first.
Paid links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices and stock are Amazon's, and change; we list categories, not endorsements.
Every base power station that EcoFlow, Jackery, Goal Zero and Pecron list on their own US stores with an unambiguous capacity, whose price on the read date was $500 or less. Prices are the maker's own price on 25 October 2026 (some from the 20 October read where a later one was not available); a unit whose page gave no clear capacity is not listed. Price per watt-hour is price divided by rated capacity; hours assume a constant 100 W load and 85% usable capacity. Battery disclosure is coded from each listing in the Disclosure Index. We did not test any unit.
For makers: if a price, capacity or certification here has changed, tell us on our contact page and we will re-read the listing and date the change.
On makers' prices on 25 October 2026, the Pecron E1000LFP gave the most capacity per dollar ($0.39 per Wh), and the Pecron E1000LFP gave the most capacity under $500 (1,024 Wh).
Add up each device's watts times hours per day, divide by 0.85 for losses, and multiply by the days between recharges. A laptop, phone and lights for a day is around 400 Wh.
A 60 W laptop draws about 60 Wh an hour, so a 1,024 Wh unit at 85% usable capacity runs it for roughly 14 hours before other loads and inverter idle draw.
Some can run a small refrigerator for a few hours, if the unit's continuous and surge output cover its compressor start. A space heater or kettle draws more than these units list. Check output against the biggest device.
No. It ignores output, cycle life, warranty, ports and weight. It is a fair first filter within a size class, then read what the listing says about the battery.
Pick the size from your devices first, then compare price per watt-hour inside that size. The Pecron E1000LFP was the cheapest per Wh we read at $0.39, and the Pecron E1000LFP the largest under $500. Prices move, so re-check the maker's page before you buy.